Wow! My Heart Still Beats for Her…


I tried to call my wife twice when I was in office. But she didn’t respond. I thought she must be busy in her classes in the school. She returns back to home at around 4 pm in the afternoon and I come back, say around 6 pm. We usually send SMSs to each other regarding few household things from each others’ work places with our respective phones.

 I returned back home at my usual time and saw its still locked from outside, which was an indication that she hasn’t come yet. I went inside and just sat down thinking what could be the possible reasons of her delays. Then I remember tomorrow is the foundation day of her school and she must be busy preparing along with others. I press the call button again on my cell. It rang. No response. I just laid my tired body on the bed and watched the cartoon for sometime. Then I went and took bath as it was too hot today in the day time. I came back from bathroom and sent two more SMSs to her. Then again I called. Its 6:45 pm. I thought how can it be that late? Why she is not picking up the phone? She should have answered my SMSs atleast! I usually don’t bother about delays if informed earlier but she never told me that she would be late. I just guessed that she may be busy for tomorrow.

I was feeling hungry. I made little noodles. Then called my sister who used to work in the same school two months ago. I asked her if she know the school number. It was a ‘no’ from her. She told me not to worry as she would definitely be busy for tomorrow. I calmed down and sat to eat…

I finished my noodles and was resting. After sometime I again checked my watch, it was 7:45pm and I was then really worried. I thought of putting my jeans on again and start for her school. Then I thought let me ask my sister to call one of her colleagues as she was having their numbers with her. She called a teacher and then called me back again saying, ‘the other teacher said, Asmita just got out of the school now.’

Ah…what a relief…! I pressed her number again and she picked up this time. She said her phone and bag was in the office as she was busy in the class decorating and rehearsal for tomorrow. She came back after sometime. But I was already on SW.

As I was thinking what to write tonight, a thought came to me about today’s incident. How many times we fought with each other, how many times we disagree with many things, how many times I have shouted at her for some or other reasons…but the worries that I had for her wihtout any reason struck me. And gave me an assurance that I am still in love with her.  The beating of heart for her felt good later after knowing see is ok.

It is not always important to know whether she loves me or not. Sometimes it is also important for us to know whether I still love her or not. In fact, that assurance will give us the confidence to ask her, ‘do you love me?’

These worries for petty things in life are reassuring. Trust me it is always very soothing and satisfying when we get to know that we both still love each other the way we used to love in the beginning.  It’s a great feeling to know that my heart still beats for her and vice versa. That gives us a sense of immense security in our relationship. I am feeling that right now and I am feeling great.

May God bless us to understand the deepest mysteries of a marriage relationship.

Stay Blessed!

3 comments

  1. Lovely!! Great lesson to learn… often in a relationship we are more worried if the other person loves us meanwhile we forget our role… Thanks for reminding this!

Leave a Reply

