Dealing with tough times like Jesus did…


On Thursday, 13th April 2017… I was asked to preach in a church in the evening time. I chose the portion where Jesus was going through deep sorrow knowing that His time for being crucified was near. The Bible portion in Matthew 26:36-46 reads as under:

36 Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and He said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.”

37 He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and He began to be sorrowful and troubled.

38 Then He said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.”

39 Going a little farther, He fell with His face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

40 Then He returned to His disciples and found them sleeping. “Couldn’t you men keep watch with me for one hour?” He asked Peter.

41 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

42 He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”

43 When He came back, He again found them sleeping, because their eyes were heavy.

44 So He left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing.

45 Then He returned to the disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and resting? Look, the hour has come, and the Son of Man is delivered into the hands of sinners.

46 Rise! Let us go! Here comes my betrayer!”

Jesus’s agony as a 100% human was humongous… Can you imagine of carrying the sins of the whole world (including the past, present and future) alone as a human being? When I feel extreme discomfort or sick the fear of death makes me so anxious… We usually feel so horrible even with the thought of death then just imagine as a human what Jesus must be going through. The Bible says angels came to strengthen His human stature so that He can fulfill the divine saving act for the whole human kind.

This is the background of His agony…

Now in this state of my mind He did exactly TWO things which we need to learn from Him for our life.

1. Seek the SUPPORT & PRESENCE of His closest: Usually when we go through tough times we take ourselves to a corner, sit quietly, cry in our bathroom, avoid crowd and people. Sometimes we ask others to leave the person alone for sometime. May be that’s the right thing we do when somebody goes through a very difficult time… But when I looked my eyes up to my Saviour I found Him seeking His loved ones presence and support when He was in deep anguish. The research says that the persons with good and strong family supports usually tend to get out of their sorrows quicker than those who don’t have that support system.

Next time when I am in pain I will seek your presence and support definitely if you are in the list of my close friends and family.

2. Seek the SUPPORT & PRESENCE of His Heavenly Father: The second thing what He did was ‘Praying to His father’. The three very important aspects of His prayer was, firstly, He affirmed the power of His Father God by praying, “My Father, if it is possible…” He acknowledge that only His Heavenly Father can make things happen; it is His prerogative to make anything possible. Secondly, He poured His heart by praying, “…may this cup be taken from me”. And thirdly, He submitted and surrendered His whole being to His father’s will as He prayed finally, “Yet not as I will, but as YOU will”.

Jesus being 100% God Himself didn’t get away from His responsibilities as a Saviour. He carried out His messianic responsibilities even if He was 100% human being going through extreme agony before and during His death and crucifixion. That’s the reason why He surrendered Himself fully into His Father’s hands and will.

TWO very important lessons that I got to know from the event that happened in the garden of Gethsemane while preparing my sermon that day. I decided I am not going to switch off my connections from my loved ones as well as my connections with my Heavenly Father. I will keep both my vertical as well as horizontal relationship in tact while going through tough times in life.

So Friends! Whenever you go through difficult times just look up to the Saviour who so beautifully explained it through His own life. 

Hope this helps… Stay Blessed!!!

Leave a Reply

